Sam Smith Live In Manchester

We are pleased to announce the release of new recordings from Sam Smith – Live in Manchester.

Marking the end of a relatively fallow year spent mainly in the studio, this recording documents the final live date of 2018 for German Shepherd Records recording artist, Sam Smith. Recorded at the Castle Hotel, Manchester at the end of a mini-tour, this release captures the depths of Smith’s full live show across 12 tracks for the first time ever.

sam promo shot

However this is a very special release split across 2 versions. Firstly a 7 track EP released across all major streaming platforms. Secondly the full LP with all 12 tracks released exclusively to German Shepherd Records subscribers.

Smith delivers his songs unaccompanied alternating between piano and guitar in a venue he has always wanted to play but where bad luck and circumstances had conspired against previous attempts to perform there . Containing songs old and new alongside some select covers from some of Sam’s all time favourite artists in The Clash, Bruce Springsteen and Slipknot, this show was captured brilliantly by engineer Martin Hurley in a truly beautiful sounding room at well regarded music venue The Castle Hotel on Oldham Street in Manchester’s Northern Quarter.

Tracks ‘Circles of Purgatory Pt. 1’ and ‘Demonic · Histrionic · Catatonic’ are taken from Sam’s upcoming album (due Q2 2019) and these songs remain exclusive to the subscribers of German Shepherd Records via the LP release. Highlights from the general EP release are; a version of Slipknot’s 2004 hit Duality from behind the piano and a familiarly searing lament to the town of Stockport courtesy of old Sam Smith & Company live favourite ‘Some Facts’ in addition to songs from the ‘Bandini days’ and beyond.



1. Nashville, Kid
2. Circles of Purgatory (Pt. 1)
3. Janie Jones*
4. The Whiskey, Guns & Bridges Blues
5. The Ghost of Tom Joad*
6. Duality*
7. Bad Water
8. Under the Waves off Kanagawa
9. Demonic · Histrionic · Catatonic
10. Ask the Dust
11. Some Facts
12. Running & Falling Free

This version is only available to Subscribers to German Shepherd Records. For £40 subscribers receive everything German Shepherd Records release digitally over 12 months plus over 40 former releases from the labels back catalogue as well as unique subscriber specials like this.

ss live in manchester


1. Nashville, Kid
2. The Whiskey, Guns & Bridges Blues
3. The Ghost of Tom Joad
4. Duality
5. Bad Water
6. Some Facts
7. Running & Falling Free

All songs written by Samuel Frankie James Smith except where noted (Track 3 written by Joe Strummer & Mick Jones, Track 5 written by Bruce Springsteen, Track 6 written by Shawn Crahan, Chris Fehn, Paul Gray, Craig Jones, Joey Jordison, Jim Root, Corey Taylor ,Mick Thomson & Sid Wilson).

This release is distributed by Sam via AWAL to all major digital download portals on 25th January.


Sam Smith is a prolific singer, songwriter, musician and educator from Manchester. He has lead the bands Sam Smith & Company, and The Parish Church Fire as well as performing solo as Franco Bandini and under his own name. Steeped in rock and punk Sam is a charismatic and emotional performer. Currently reconstructing The Parish Church Fire and working on his debut solo album Sam will next be performing live with the band at Strummercamp 2019 at Oldham Rugby Club with further selected gigs to follow.




Franco Bandini – 2014 was a bad year (2015)
Franco Bandini – Sonic Diary Session 24​-​02​-​16 (2016)
Franco Bandini – Locamente (2016)
Sam Smith – Bad Water (2017)
Sam Smith – Under the waves off Kanagwa (2018)